Return to Headlines

Three EPS educators nominated for Teacher of the Year

Jan. 23, 2019 – Three Edina teachers are among 168 nominated for the 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. Education Minnesota released this year’s list of nominees on Jan. 18, and included on the list are Geneva Fitzsimonds, Edina High School band teacher; Jill Uecker, Concord Elementary special education teacher; and Janel Weiland, South View Middle School science teacher. Teacher of the Year nominees: Geneva Fitzsimonds, Jill Uecker, and Janel Weiland

Eligible nominees for the Teacher of the Year must be currently teaching in a public or nonpublic school working directly with students, have taught for five years and intend to teach during the upcoming school year, along with holding a bachelor’s degree and a Minnesota teaching license. Nominations are made during the fall using a nomination form found on Nominees submit their portfolio as an acceptance of their nomination.

A selection committee determines the semifinalists, finalists, and ultimately, the Teacher of the Year. This panel is made up of 20-25 community leaders from around Minnesota in education, business, and government. The winner of the 2019 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award will be announced in May. 


Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter  Email