Return to Headlines

Five EHS seniors named National Hispanic Scholars

Sept. 21, 2017 - The College Board, which provides Advanced Placement curriculum and SAT college entrance exams, has named five Edina High School seniors National Hispanic Scholars. They are: Jonah Calvo, Antonio Flores, Ian Layton, Connor Silva, and Juan Uribe. Students qualify for the recognition by achieving a score that is in the top 2.5 percent among Hispanic/Latino students who took the PSAT in their junior year. They must also have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher by the middle of their junior year and provide other application materials.

The National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) is an academic honor and is used by colleges and universities to identify academically exceptional Hispanic/Latino students. Each year, the NHRP recognized approximately 5,000 of the 250,000 Hispanic/Latino juniors who take the test.