Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


Senior named U.S. Presidential Scholar

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.
Senior named U.S. Presidential Scholar

EHS senior Dedeepya Guthikonda is one of two Minnesota students recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a Presidential Scholar. Scholars are recognized for their demonstration of leadership, scholarship, contribution to school and community, and outstanding accomplishments in the arts, sciences, humanities, and other fields of interest.

The Commission on Presidential Scholars recognizes students annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

“Congratulations to Dedeepya and Minkai (Li from Woodbury High School) on this incredible honor,” said Education Commissioner Dr. Heather Mueller. “Your hard work and diligence have brought you to this pivotal moment. Your commitment to not only your academics but to your community is inspiring. We are extremely proud of you.”

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2022 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer with an online recognition program. To learn more about the program, visit the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program webpage of the U.S. Department of Education website.