Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


Global scholars win awards at Model G20 Youth Leadership Summit

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.

Two Edina High School senior Global Scholars, Aashna Kumar and Emma Johnson, won Exceptional Ministerial Delegates awards at the Model G20® Youth Leadership Summit, which took place February 12-20. The theme of the summit was “Addressing Climate Change.”

  • Aashna Kumar won the Best Minister of Energy for representing South Africa
  • Emma Johnson won the Best Minister of the Environment and Sustainable Development for representing Australia

The Model G20® Leadership Summit provides an opportunity for high school students to collaborate in an immersive learning experience. Students from around the world participate in a variety of workshops, lectures, and classes based on real G20 topics. They are then given the opportunity to use this knowledge to negotiate agreements, draft strategies and network with other G20 countries. The students attended the Summit through the Edina Rotary Scholars, a learning pathway that is a partnership between Edina High School, Edina Rotary and Edina Education Fund.