Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


EHS yearbook receives recognition

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.
EHS yearbook receives recognition

The 2017 edition of the Edina High School yearbook has been awarded a Gold Medal ranking by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA). The Whigrean (formerly called Windigo) was judged in categories of Verbal, Visual, and Reference elements and received a score placing them in the highest medal category.

Student editors of last year’s book were Grace McGurran, Sarah Kraft, Megan Ross, Maeve Swackhamer, Ty Dowda, Katie Clark, and Sonya Miller. Ellen Guerin, EHS language arts teacher, is the yearbook advisor. The yearbook was rated “excellent” in areas including “telling the story of the year in a compelling, authentic, journalistic manner,” presenting a visually attractive design and creating a book that is reader-friendly and historically accurate.

According the Guerin, the yearbook has not receive such a high score since the early 2000s. Last year it received a Silver Medal ranking. “I am so proud of our staff for achieving Gold this year,” she said.