Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


EHS students named National Merit Semifinalists

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.

Edina Public Schools is pleased to announce 19 Edina High School students have been named National Merit Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students were among 1.5 million in about 21, 000 high schools who entered the program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). The nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. The following students have been named National Merit Semifinalists:

Jennifer Ai

Bella Boeckenstedt

Olof de Verdier

Jaehyun Hong

Biren Katyal

Romy Luong

Lindsey McKhann

Megan McLenighan

Joseph Powers

Helen Propson

Tiffany Qian

Ryne Reger

Matthew Ruppert

Sabrina Talghader

Theodor Teske

Amy Wang

Ruoran Xu

Kerui Yang

Lucy Yang

The Semifinalists will have the opportunity to advance to Finalist standing by submitting a detailed scholarship application. They will then be able to compete for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, offered next spring, worth more than $31 million. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing.