Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


EHS honors 18 juniors with Book Awards

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.
EHS honors 18 juniors with Book Awards

Edina High School has honored 18 juniors with Book Awards from 13 colleges. Book Awards are a collaboration with colleges and universities around the nation that recognize outstanding students. Nominated students have high academic achievement, dedication to learning, leadership, school involvement, character and commitment to the community. The EHS Student Services team collaborated with administration to honor a select group of students chosen by faculty for their accomplishments in and out of the classroom.

Each Book Award is accompanied by a certificate and/or symbol of the award, such as a book written by an alumnus or representing an institutional priority. This is the 26th year EHS has honored standout students with Book Awards.

Following are this year’s Book Award recipients and a description of each award. You may also view the presentation slide deck to learn more about each student.

Adaolisa Mba, The Harvard Book Award
Outstanding junior who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and achievement in other nonacademic areas.

Sabeehudeen Mirza, The Johns Hopkins University Book Award
The award celebrates the spirit of Johns Hopkins University, whose alumni populate the upper echelons of many disciplines, including literature, the arts, medicine, the sciences, international affairs, the social sciences, and engineering.

John Vaccaro, The Yale University Book Award
Recognizes a student for their outstanding personal character and intellectual promise.

Owen Sanderson, The Tulane University Book Award
A junior who embodies Tulane's motto of "Not for one's self, but for one's own," and has demonstrated excellence in academics, leadership, and public service.

Hanna Owens Pierre, The Wellesley College Book Award
Recognizes young women chosen for their intelligence, determination, motivation, and achievement.

Shamita Senthil Kumar, The Bryn Mawr College Book Award
Female applicant must exhibit an intense intellectual commitment, have a self-directed and purposeful vision of her life, and have a desire to make a meaningful contribution to the world.

Natasha Zettler, The Smith College Book Award
Exemplifies the academic achievement, leadership qualities, and concern for others that characterize the thousands of women who have graduated from Smith College.

Charlotte Nasiedlak, The Bowdoin College Book Award
Recognize a high school junior who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the common good and an unusual passion for inquiry, discovery, and innovative thinking.

Maria Hadjiyanis, The Columbia University Book Award
Recognizes an outstanding junior who has demonstrated their commitment to excellence - both academic and extracurricular.

Reeya Anand, The Sons of American Revolution Bronze Good Citizen Medal
The Sons of American Revolution recognize an outstanding high school student considering both citizenship and scholarship. 

Joely Emerson, The Saint Michael’s College Book Award
Recognizes academic success and exemplary community service involvement. The accomplishments embody the college’s commitment to intellectual achievement, social justice and concern for others.

Anabelle Jakala, The Saint Michael’s College Book Award
Recognizes academic success and exemplary community service involvement. The accomplishments embody the college’s commitment to intellectual achievement, social justice and concern for others.

Jayden Kapoor, The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medal
This merit scholarship, with a value of $30,000 per year, is guaranteed for four years for each Medalist who is accepted and enrolls at Rensselaer.

Owen Nielsen, The St. Lawrence University Book Award
Student who has distinguished themselves in their communities by their significant commitment to community service.

University of Rochester (NY)

  • Anamika Kansara, Frederic Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award Rigorous courses taken in the humanities and social sciences as well as a demonstrated commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues.

  • Emily Leung, George Eastman Young Leaders Award
    Strong leadership experience at school and in the community.

  • Emma Rapallini, Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award
    High achievement and rigor in science classes along with positive contributions to their school and within the larger community.

  • Robert Zhang, Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology Award
    Strong interest in innovation and/or information technology and a high level of achievement in this area; Exposure to new technologies outside of school, such as pursuing serious work opportunities in local laboratories or industry.