Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


EHS debate team receives top awards at state tournament

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.

Edina High School’s debate team received multiple accolades at the 119th Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) State Debate Tournament, January 17-18. The tournament took place at the University of Minnesota. Eight students were recognized, along with EHS overall and Coach Hayden Uihlein. Here are the results from the state tournament:

State Runner Up

  • Ryan Zhu & Arjun Maheswari, Public Forum Debate

State Semi-Finalist

  • Claire Anderson McEligott & Kyra Boorsma Bergerud, Policy Debate
  • Ananth Veluvali, Lincoln Douglas Debate

State Quarter-Finalist

  • Yash Shah & Nihar Atri, Policy Debate
  • Matthew Ruppert, Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Wells Fargo Spotlight on the Arts Awards of Excellence

  • Kyra Boorsma Bergerud
  • Claire Anderson McEligott
  • Ryan Zhu
  • Arjun Maheshwari
  • Ananth Veluvali

MDTA Challenge Cup - Public Forum 

  • Awarded to Edina High School

MDTA Challenge Cup - Lincoln Douglas 

  • Awarded to Edina High School

MDTA All-State

  • Ananth Veluvali

MDTA Coach of the Year Finalist

  • Coach Hayden Uihlein