Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


Edina High School CyberPatriot Team wins first place in Gold Tier

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.

A team of students from Edina High School (EHS) recently concluded an exceptional round of competition in the twelfth season of CyberPatriot – the Air Force Association’s National Youth Cyber Defense Competition. This competition challenges teams of students across the United States, Canada, and other schools abroad, to find and resolve cybersecurity vulnerabilities in simulated environments. 

Led by EHS senior Aryan Jain, the team of students from EHS excelled in the state round held in December, demonstrating teamwork, critical thinking, and technical skills needed for a successful career in cybersecurity. The team’s performance earned it first place in the Gold Tier. The members of the team are:

  • Ian McVann-Henkelmann, sophomore
  • Ryan Koo, junior
  • Nick Dimitrov, junior
  • Aryan Jain, senior 
  • Richik Choudhury, junior
  • Sarah Swann, junior

Top teams from the online rounds earn an all-expenses-paid trip to Rockville, Md., for the in-person National Finals Competition, where students compete for national recognition and scholarships.