Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


12 EHS seniors are National Merit Semifinalists

Aerial view of Kuhlman stadium with water tower in foreground.

Twelve EHS seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program. The program identifies and honors academically talented high school students and assists them in pursuing higher education.

Students qualify for the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) in their junior year. To receive a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and other requirements. Recipients of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments.

The following students have been named National Merit Semifinalists:

Ansel Erol
Riley Frederick
Shayaan Gandhi
Abid Hasan
Evan Holly
Ryan Jiang
Shamita Senthil Kumar
Adwin Shi
Jacob Tietz
Thomas Whalen
Kevin Yi
Robert Zhang