• School Board Committee Appointments, Liaisons and Representatives

    Individual School Board members are assigned to serve on board and district committees, as board liaisons to EPS schools and programs, and as district representatives on local and state educational organization committees and task forces. The Board will make committee appointments in July and January. Some committees are school-year appointments with terms ending June 30.

  • Board Committees

    (Term served is calendar year)
    Finance and Facilities – Matt Fox, Owen Michaelson, Ellen Jones
    Governance – Erica Allenburg, Leny Wallen-Friedman, Janie Shaw
    Policy – Owen Michaelson, Erica Allenburg, Julie Greene
    Teaching and Learning – Leny Wallen-Friedman, Janie Shaw, Ellen Jones

  • Board Liaisons

    School Sites
    (Term served is academic year, except where noted)
    Concord Elementary School – Janie Shaw
    Cornelia Elementary School – Erica Allenburg
    Countryside Elementary School – Leny Wallen-Friedman
    Creek Valley Elementary School – Ellen Jones
    Highlands Elementary School – Julie Greene
    Normandale Elementary School – Owen Michaelson
    South View Middle School – Janie Shaw
    Valley View Middle School – Matt Fox
    Edina High School – Ellen Jones
    Early Learning Center – Julie Greene

    Outside Organizations
    Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) – Julie Greene
    Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD) – Ellen Jones
    Minnesota State High School Leagues (MSHSL) – Erica Allenburg
    Edina Parent Leadership Council – Erica Allenburg
    Edina Education Fund – Leny Wallen-Friedman (Dec. 30)
    Edina City Council – Erica Allenburg (Dec. 30)

  • Board Representatives

    (Term served is calendar year, except where noted)
    Community Education Svs Advisory Council – Julie Greene
    Mental Health/Wellness Advisory Team – Julie Greene
    Special Education Advisory Council – Julie Greene
    Gifted Education Advisory Council – Ellen Jones
    World’s Best Workforce – Janie Shaw, Ellen Jones
    Meet & Confer – Leny Wallen-Friedman, Erica Allenburg (June 30)
    Insurance Committee – Janie Shaw
    Student Activities Advisory Committee – Janie Shaw
    Legislative Action Committee – Owen Michaelson, Ellen Jones, Julie Greene

  • Community Appointments by Board

    (Term expiration date)

    • Intermediate School District 287 – Regina Neville (12/30/20)
    • Community Education Services Board – Karen Gabler (6/30/19)
    • Edina Community Council Committee – Mindy Rhiger (6/30/20), Meg Barrett (6/30/21), Peg Gaard (6/30/21), Cheryl Gunness (6/30/21), Jeff Jorgensen (6/30/21)
    • Board Finance Committee – Cathy Cella (6/30/19), Ben Sorenson (6/30/20), Timothy Smith (6/30/21), Mohamed Abdihalim (6/30/21)
  • Board Legislative Action Committee

    The Edina School Board developed a non-partisan Legislative Action Committee (LAC) in fall 2018 focused on issues impacting education in Minnesota and Edina Public Schools, specifically.

Learn More